The Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series finally got its 2014 season opener in the books after a one week delay due to weather on Saturday evening at Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, TN and Lucas Lee of Paris, TN would win the opening event for the Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series 2014 season. The win for Lee would come aboard the Michael Lee owned Tank Line of Paris/Bruce Built Performance/Street Dynamics/Wiles Driveshafts/FK Rod Ends/Lucas Lee Motorsports sponsored #12 LG2 by Owens Chassis powered by a Mullins Race Engine.

Lee’s victory was worth $1,500 to the Paris, TN native and also marked the first ever series win on the tour for a driver from the Volunteer State. The event was the 39th event in the history of the tour and Lee’s victory made him the 23rd different winner in series history.

After a pair of attempted starts (one resulting in a brief red-flag period to untangle the cars of Ricky Tinch and Rocky Wilson), the event would go green, with Lee immediately jumping to the race lead, with Clayton Miller and Allen Weisser giving chase. The only other caution would wave for debris on lap 5 and Levi Kissinger would battle his way past Weisser for third only to see his event end with a flat tire and him exiting the event on lap 8. Lee would pull to a comfortable lead over Miller until lap 20, when Miller would close the gap between himself and leader. The final ten circuits would see Miller repeatedly dog Lee for the top spot, but was never capable of executing the pass. Lee would take the victory over Miller by a car length at the checkered flag. Weisser would claim the final podium finishing position with a third place effort, while Ryan Thomas and Trent Young would complete the top five finishers.

John O Whittington of Vidor, Texas, conquered a strong field of USRA Limited Mods Friday night, winning the 20-lap main event at the Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, Texas. Whittington was dominant over the last half of the race and streaked beneath the checkered flag with a 10-car-length advantage to take home the $1,000 top prize.

Kyle Bronson edged Ty Dillon during the DIRTcar Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment on Thursday night at Volusia Speedway Park.

As the early leaders in the 20-lap DIRTcar UMP Modified feature found trouble, Bronson kept pushing to the front, eventually moving to the high side of the half-mile oval and edging NASCAR Nationwide driver Ty Dillon by 0.28 at the checkered flag.

“He went with a harder tire and I figured they would be better on the longer runs, but I think my softer tire worked better on the shorter run,” said Bronson, of Brandon, Fla. “Everybody acts like they’ve been given everything, but I’ve raced with them and they’re the best in the business, they should have been in NASCAR a long time ago.”

Front row lead by Dave Wietholder and Troy Girolamo took the green flag out turn four. Wietholder had a hard charging Kyle Bronson and Girolamo on his back door. A quick yellow would fly before the first lap would be made. As Devin Gilpin would spin out on the bottom of turn four. With a complete restart the green would find a new leader out turn four with Girolamo leading the way with Bronson and Wietholder at his back bumper. It wouldn’t take long, the next lap Kyle “the killer” Bronson would take a commanding lead out front. By lap six it was Bronson and the “Professor” Ivedent Lloyd on his tail flying through lap traffic. Lap seven caution would fly for the two drivers spinning out of turn four, green flag Bronson would get a quick jump on the “Professor” and check out. A tight battle was going on for the third position with Girolamo, Thomas Sigler and Jeff Mathews going at it. Lap twelve the half way mark the caution would return with Larry Mott and Willie Krup getting hook together and would then bring out the red to unhook the two mods.

With the green waving once more Bronson would take his number 40 machine to the finish for win number two in a row. Lloyd Jr would follow in second with Girolamo in third.

Kyle Bronson from nearby Brandon, Florida, was declared the winner after 17 laps of the scheduled 25 lap event paying $1,500 to win over a stellar field of open-wheel modified cars. It marked the first Winternational win for him in the Wayne and Shirlene Hammond owned number 40B car that he started in third spot in a field of 27 cars that showed up here from 12 states to compete for the Open Wheel title.

Bronson explained the early going like this. “I knew the inside was the fastest way around the track, but everyone was running down there. With Kyle Strickler starting on pole and Dale Mathison taking the lead for the next six laps, I decided to try the outside and it worked for me.” Bronson took the lead coming out of turn four in heavy traffic on lap seven as fog began to appear above the track. The win marked the third win in as many tries for the new GRT chassis powered by a Mullins engine.